Connect with us

La Liga

The Campeonato Nacional de Liga de Primera Division – or better known as La Liga, or La Liga Santander for sponsorship reasons, is the men’s first division of football in Spain.

It hosts 20 teams, using a traditional promotion-relegation system, where the bottom three clubs in the table after 38 matchdays are relegated to the Segunda, or Second Division, and the top three clubs in the Segunda are promoted to the top flight.

It was established in 1928 by Jose Maria Acha, and according to UEFA coefficient rankings, La Liga is the top European league and has been from 2013 to 2019.

Real Madrid, current defending champions, also holds the record for the most number of league titles in this division, with 34. Barcelona have won it 26 times, which is second-most in the history of the league.

Latest on La Liga