Connect with us

Barça News

Official: Barcelona’s Pedri wins the Golden Boy Award



Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

The Ballon d’Or award is undoubtedly the most significant individual award in world football right now, and despite losing credibility recently, fans look forward to it with eagerness. Apart from that, the Golden Boy award often makes headlines, given to the best under-21 player playing in a top European division.

After months of deliberation and voting, Tuttosport — the newspaper that hands out the awards — has officially announced Pedri as the winner! He will collect the award on December 13th in Turin, Italy.

The Spanish youngster made a name for himself last season at Barça after coming through Las Palmas. Playing almost every game in every tournament for every team he represented, Pedri has already established himself as an incredible midfielder.

However, he came up against some sensational talent in the race for the award. The top contenders, after the list was reduced to the final 20 included the likes of Borrusia Dortmund’s Jude Bellingham and Gio Reyna, Real Madrid’s Eduardo Camavinga, Bayern Munich’s Jamal Musiala, Manchester United’s Mason Greenwood, Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, Bayer Leverkusen’s Florian Wirtz, and none other than Gavi himself.

All of these players have had brilliant individual seasons, and are among the first names on the team sheet for their respective clubs. Bellingham and Greenwood are staples for their respective clubs while Gavi has burst on to the scene with immense potential.

Camavinga earned himself a move to Madrid, while Wirtz already has four goals and six assists in ten games in the Bundesliga.

The last Barcelona player to win the award was the one and only Lionel Messi, awarded for his exploits in 2005. Since then, Cesc Fabregas and Sergio Aguero are winners who have represented Barcelona as well. Gavi next?

Trending Articles