Connect with us

Barça News

Athletic Club duo make sarcastic remarks following controversially disallowed goal vs Barcelona

Published

on

Photo by ANDER GILLENEA/AFP via Getty Images

Barcelona consolidated their position at the top of the league table with yet another narrow 1-0 victory over Athletic Club.

It was a controversial game in every sense of the word, particularly regarding the goals that were scored. Raphinha’s winner, for example, was initially ruled out by the referee before VAR eventually revealed that the Brazilian was not offside.

But the turning point of the game was when the referee Gil Manzano had to disallow Inaki Williams’ 87th-minute goal. While Manzano had initially awarded the goal, VAR revealed that Muniain had handled the ball during the build-up.

However, the decision did not go well with the Athletic Club players. Shortly after the game, Inaki Williams, whose goal was disallowed, took to Twitter to post a sarcastic tweet that read, “JAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJAJA”.

Veteran Raul Garcia also took to Instagram, posting a story with this – 🤷🏻‍♂️ – emoji to show his frustration at the referee’s call.

While VAR clearly showed that Muniain had indeed handled the ball before releasing it to Inaki Williams, the incident will surely spark up further controversy, just months after Barcelona were revealed as the main accused of the Enriquez Negreira payoff scandal.

This also comes in the backdrop of Athletic Club fans protesting with currency notes of Barça colours, calling them out for their alleged involvement and payments to Negreira for referee insights and result manipulation.

Barcelona have remained tight-lipped on the issue so far, but they are collecting information and evidence. The idea is to make Joan Laporta appear before the media within two weeks to talk about the issue at large and deny the club’s involvement in the matter.

Trending Articles