Connect with us

Champions League

The UEFA Champions League is an annual club football tournament organised by the governing body of European football – the Union of European Football Associations. It is the most coveted trophy in club football, contested between the best teams across the continent in a group plus knockout format.

Known as the ‘European Cup’ earlier, it contested between 16 teams. Finally, a round-robin group was introduced in 1991, and the competition went on to be officially recognised as the Champions League in 1992, a season after Johann Cruyff led his ‘Dream Team’ to the trophy.

Barcelona have won the trophy five times in their history (1991/92, 2005/06, 2008/09, 2010/11, and 2014/15) – the fourth highest in the history of the competition. The record for most titles, at 13, is held by Barcelona’s fiercest rivals Real Madrid.

Latest on Champions League