Connect with us

Barça News

Official: AS Roma deny Barcelona president’s statements about the European Super League



Speaking about the European Super League today, Barcelona president Joan Laporta listed out the names of 13 teams that were reportedly interested in joining the saga.

“Inter, AC Milan, Napoli, AS Roma, any team in La Liga except Atletico de Madrid, which has another position, Marseille, the three Portuguese sides Benfica, Sporting and Porto, the three Dutch teams Ajax, Feyenoord and PSV and two Belgians, Anderlecht and Club Brugge.”

Laporta seemed very confident in his press conference today while speaking about the ESL. However, he has been quickly brought down by AS Roma, who have released a statement denying his claims.

“As publicly reiterated a few hours after the ruling of the European Court of Justice on the Super League case, AS Roma confirm that they do not, in any way, support any project attributed to the so-called Super League,” the official press release read.

Roma also clarified saying that they have never considered revising their position, and that they have never had talks with UEFA or FIFA about possibly taking on the new or any other path.

Trending Articles