Connect with us

Barça News

Former Spanish referee points out three refereeing mistakes from Inter Milan vs Barcelona



Photo by MARCO BERTORELLO/AFP via Getty Images

The UEFA Champions League clash between Inter Milan and Barcelona last night was fraught with controversies thanks to some questionable decisions made by the referee and the VAR over the course of the ninety-odd minutes.

The game ultimately ended 1-0 in favour of the Nerazzurri, with Barça being left frustrated and furious over some of the mistakes made by the match officials on the night at Giuseppe Meazza.

Former La Liga match official Eduardo Iturralde appeared on Cadena SER’s El Larguero program after the game and highlighted the three major mistakes made by referee Slavko Vincic and his team during Inter Milan vs Barcelona.

As per the former referee, the penalty not given to Barcelona for a handball by Inter Milan defender Denzel Dumfries was a huge error from the match officials on Tuesday night.

The handball from the Dutch defender was as clear as day but neither the referee, nor the VAR deemed it an offence worth awarding a penalty to the shock and dismay of Barcelona. Unlike some other incidents earlier in the game, the referee was not even asked to consult the pitchside monitor either.

Iturralde then adds that Barça were denied yet another penalty when star striker Robert Lewandowski was pushed down to the ground in the Inter Milan box by one of the hosts’ defenders. The matter was not given a second thought by the referee and was not looked at by the VAR either.

Another huge mistake made by the referees on Tuesday night, as per Iturralde, is not giving a red card to Inter’s goalscorer Hakan Calhanoglu.

The Turkish playmaker dove in boots high and brought down Sergio Busquets with a rash challenge that at least warranted a closer look. But the referee was happy giving just a yellow card and the VAR did not intervene.

While Barcelona did not play particularly well on the night, the refereeing decisions made certainly had a major impact on the outcome of the game.

Apart from the aforementioned three errors, the Catalans also had a goal scored by Pedri chalked off for accidental handball by Ansu Fati, although it should have stood according to the latest FIFA rules.

Having been left with a bitter taste after the match, Barcelona are set to lodge an official complaint over with UEFA over the officiating on Tuesday night.

Trending Articles