Connect with us

Barça News

Barcelona receive a host of nominations for the Globe Soccer Awards, Lewandowski, Bonmati in contention for top honours



Photo by LLUIS GENE/AFP via Getty Images

Every year, various stakeholders come out in the world of football to acknowledge and award the best-performing players and teams of the season. The Ballon d’Or and FIFA The Best are some such well-known award festivities.

The Globe Soccer Awards has slowly, yet surely, made its way into the limelight in recent years. Since its inception in 2010, it has made a name for itself as a set of awards handed out based on fan votes.

Barcelona received plenty nominations

As revealed by Mundo Deportivo, Globe has announced the list of nominees for various awards as part of its 14th edition. Barcelona has received a plethora of nominations across several categories.

For starters, the Catalans have been nominated as a club for the ‘Best Team of the Year’ award in both the men’s and women’s categories. After all, both teams won their respective leagues last season.

In the men’s section, the Blaugranas also enjoy two nominations for the ‘Best Player of the Year’ award. Ilkay Gundogan and Robert Lewandowski are the two players chosen by Globe, and the latter has also been nominated for the ‘Fans’ Favourite Player award.

Both Xavi and Jonatan Giráldez are nominated for Best Coach of the Year. Gundogan has also been nominated, this time alongside Pedri, in the Best Midfielder of the Year category.

Lamine Yamal and Marc-Andre ter Stegen make the cut for the Best Emerging Player and Best Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Barça Femeni steal the show

Bonmati won the Woman Ballon d’Or award this year. (Photo by FRANCK FIFE/AFP via Getty Images)

The remaining six nominations received by the Azulgranas feature players from Barça Femini, and understandably so.

After all, the Catalan queens are head and shoulders above their competition across all competitions and have re-written history books year after year.

Aitana Bonmati is expected to walk away with the Best Female Player of the Year award, succeeding her teammate Alexia Putellas. Nominated alongside her are Patri Guijarro, Mapi León, Salma Paralluelo, Asisat Oshoala, and Fridolina Rolfö.

The award ceremony is set to take place on January 19th at the Atlantis in Dubai, and it remains to be seen how many Blaugrana stars are crowned in their respective categories on the night.

Trending Articles