Connect with us

Barça News

Ansu Fati finishes second to only Erling Haaland for Golden Boy Award




The Golden Boy Award, awarded by Italian newspaper Tuttosport, is given to the best player aged 21 or under, playing in the top tier of European nation as voted by journalists across the continent. Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas, Sergio Aguero among others are some famous winners of this award, and it was awarded to Joao Felix last year.

This year’s competition was stiffer than ever with the likes of Jadon Sancho, Alphonso Davies, Ansu Fati, Phil Foden among others in the race for it. However, none of them could top Erling Haaland of Borussia Dortmund, who won the race for the trophy with a total of 302 points.

Courtesy of his sensational start to the season, Ansu Fati ended up finishing second with 239 points, 13 more than treble winner Alphonso Davies. Messi is the only Barcelona player that has won it in the past (2005), while Cesc Fabregas won it with Arsenal after leaving La Masia.

This was Fati’s second nomination in two years for the award, as he jumped from finishing 6th last year to the runners up spot this year. Being just 18, the Spaniard is legible for the award for three more years, and if he is able to sustain his top-notch performances, there is little to nothing stopping him from winning the Golden Boy trophy, and more.

Simple guy, who enjoys the simple things in life: music, football, cooking, and dogs. Part-time violinist, full time Barcelona faithful.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Barça News

Papers: Messi pays homage to Maradona in clash against Osasuna

Domagoj Kostanjšak



Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

Barcelona have finally returned to winning ways with a complete dismantling of Osasuna the other night. The 4-0 scoreline tells the whole story really but it was Lionel Messi who once again stole the show with his magic.

Needless to say, the papers this morning are all about the little genius and his special homage to the late Diego Armando Maradona. SPORT say it was an emotional tribute from one D10S to another.

The Argentine scored an incredible goal and then revealed an old Newell’s Old Boys shirt underneath his Azulgrana colours which also bore the no.10 on the back. That’s the same number Maradona used to wear back in the day.

Apart from that, Antoine Griezmann also had a great night as he scored by far the best goal of the game and most likely the 2020/21 season as a whole as well. This incredible volley is bound to restore at least some of the Frenchman’s lacking confidence.

Mundo Deportivo are saying the same things with their cover, ‘Amen‘.

The outlet talks about Messi’s homage to Maradona but also mentions the goalscorers, Martin Braithwaite, Griezmann and Philippe Coutinho. However, not all is perfect and there were a couple of things that may put a stain on an otherwise perfect night.

Clément Lenglet had to be replaced following an injury and that leaves Barcelona with no senior centre-backs available anymore should the injury be serious.

Time for Frenkie de Jong in the backline next to some youngsters? It would definitely seem so.

Continue Reading